O Canada!

The Dominion - news from the grassroots

Canada, Honduras and the Coup d’Etat: A look at Canadian diplomacy, aid, and trade in Honduras | The Dominion. -by Dawn Paley

I come across Dominion articles from time to time. I haven’t always liked what I’ve seen. This post isn’t an endorsement of The Dominion. It’s an endorsement of Dawn Paley’s article, which I came to by way of Upside Down World.

The following is my online comment, posted in response to Dawn’s above article on the Dominion website:

** I greatly appreciated this article Dawn. I certainly will not forget Honduras. I’d like to say Nor will I forget Haiti, but I’m already there. When that went down back in 2004, I was apalled and determined to not forget it. I’m in a minority who, rather than feeling warm and fuzzy about our former (tax evading) finance minister and, later, prime minister, Paul Martin, feels he should be behind bars for the role he played in helping the Americans to again rape Haiti.

A project I’ve given myself is to buy three books on the subject so that I can inform myself so that I can talk intelligently about that tragedy when the subject comes up. I want to remind, or inform, others about Canada’s role in attacking Haiti and to do so in a useful, effective manner. The task has been made somewhat difficult, however, by the failure of Book City to be of any use to me. I don’t have a credit card. When I tried to get two of the books I’m after (one by Anthony Fenton and another by Paul Farmer and Noam Chomsky) from Book City they told me that they can’t get them. The reasons were nonsense to me. They actually said that the one book I wanted (by Anthony Fenton) was there, but they couldn’t order it because it was ‘one’ book. And in the case of the book co-authored by Farmer and Chomsky, which I asked for a couple of days ago, I was told that they couldn’t order it. I was given no intelligible reason.

On an aside, I noticed that there was a Toronto Star article by Tanya Talaga (allowing no commenting) about Right To Play’s foray into working with Canadian kids. I couldn’t leave a comment, so I emailed Tanya to ask whether she had thought to ask RTP whether they were still using Gildan made uniforms. Let’s see whether she responds to my question. RTP was, and may still be, using Gildan’s sweatshop-made uniforms. (I’ve seen the boxes in their Queen St E office) RTP’s people are nice enough. Capitalists usually are. Perhaps they could care about this if it was brought to their attention. I don’t know. The U.S., Canada and France overthrew Haiti’s democratically elected government so that sweatshop companies like Gildan would be free to exploit (and use child labor) there.

Ken Silverstein, writing for Harper’s magazine about the current state of sweatshops in Cambodia – I listenend to him talk about it with Doug Fabrizio of Radio West/ KUER 90.1 this morning – explained that there are no good arguments for corporations continuing to force down wages in sweatshop countries they do business with and very good reasons (trade imabalances due to America’s continued role as buyer of last resort) for them to use tarrifs (if necessary) for example to increase the wages of those workers. It’s debt, not cash, that’s being used to pay for all that cheap stuff, if I understand this properly. See Ken Silverstein’s article, “The human cost of a two-dollar T-shirt,” at: http://harpers.org/archive/2010/01/0082784. **

Here’s the link to Tanya Talaga’s Toronto Star article about Right To Play: “Right To Play takes hockey north.”

Here’s a clip from Dawn’s Dominion article:

“Regardless, Canada’s Junior Foreign Minister Peter Kent’s praise for the country’s controversial elections was glowing. “While Sunday’s elections were not monitored by international organizations such as the Organization of American States, we are encouraged by reports from civil society organizations that there was a strong turnout for the elections, that they appear to have been run freely and fairly and that there was no major violence,” said Kent.”

Peter Kent - servant of power

I’ve addressed Kent’s garbage propaganda before. Anthony Fenton pointed readers to a Douglas Bell (Globe And Mail) blog post about Kent’s imperious attitude toward Haiti. Kent, a former news anchor – Ahh, Corporate-owned media! – turned Conservative minister under hard Right prime minister Stephen Harper, lied to people about the Honduran election, as Jackie McVicar points out in her Upside Down World article, which Fenton links to. It’s nice to see these cracks in the mainstream media. Douglas Bell’s paper, The Globe And Mail, is a corporate-owned servant of power, and, while he’s no longer a news anchor, you could say Peter Kent is also a corporate-owned servant of power. Let’s see what he does to Haiti. And Fenton recently pointed out a Toronto SUN piece that, to a great extent, tells it like it is about Haiti. See “Haiti needs international community to keep momentum,” by Kathleen Harris. The SUN is ‘not’ normally friendly to the people. It just acts friendly.

But there will never be enough of those cracks. That’s why it’s up to the members of the alternative media, and we their followers, to keep busy.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment!

