“Tax Havens – How Globalization Really Works”

*edit, August 18, 2013 – I found those books. Moving? I’ve moved 8 or 9 times in the last 3 years and I need to move again because I keep landing in unliveable places. All I can do is try to get lucky because that’s your only option when you don’t have money.

Richard Murphy (‘Tax Research UK’ in my blogroll), Ronen Palan and Christian Chavagneux have produced a new book. Moving twice in 6 months was so unbelievably chaotic for me. I still can’t figure out where so many of my books went, some which I haven’t got around to reading yet. I’m not about to go out and buy a slew of new (new or used) books just yet. I’m still visiting payday lenders for gosh sakes, although that should come to an end soon now that I’m saving money after moving into a dump of an apartment.

And I see, from a blurb about his new book on Richard Murphy’s Tax Research website, that I’ll have to update my signature. It’s going to need updating every so often and – unless these people doing this kind of research and advocacy have a positive impact on corporatocracy governments that otherwise see the people as the enemy and deserving of whatever ill treatment they might give us – the figure in my signature should continue to go up from time to time. Right now it’s at $11.5 trillion and I don’t understand enough of this to state it more clearly, for I see (and saw before) that the number these researchers are willing to cite always applies to ‘personal’ wealth. There is the mention of wealth ferreted away by corporations but no figure is attached. That makes for an awkward signature if I may say so. But it’s a great signature that I’m reluctant to abandon. Anyway, My sig will now be updated to $13 trillion.

An excerpt from the overview of “Tax Havens – How Globalization Really Works,” by Ronen Palan, Richard Murphy and Christian Chavagneux, follows:

** Holding up to $13 trillion of personal wealth—the equivalent of the annual U.S. Gross National Product—and serving as the legal home of two million corporate entities and half of all international lending banks… **

Check out also “A Game as Old as Empire: The Secret World of Economic Hit Men and the Web of Global Corruption,” edited by Steven Hiatt. It’s a great book that I have read, fortunately, because it’s among my missing books. Poverty sucks!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment!

