“How Do I Remove My Profile From Plenty of Fish?”

How Do I Remove My Profile From Plenty of Fish?. – a Bonny’s Blog reader

*edit, November 18, 2011 – I just realized that I needed quotation marks around my post title. That’s what you do with quotes. When I use a quote as a title, I use quotation marks – unless I forget to, which won’t be often. I’m in the habit of punctuating properly.

An excerpt from the above linked-to letter to Bonny’s Blog follows:

** Clara asks, ” Please advise how to remove all profile information from Plenty of Fish. I’m dissatisfied with the results. The site is advertised as free, however, a fee appears for further contact. I want all info removed. How do I do that?” …I just noticed that the instructions on how to close your account are incorrect (there isn’t a “Resign” link or button anymore). Let us know if you’re successful. And for everyone else – have you recently closed your POF account? Why? Did you find it difficult to do? **

My online response to the above question and answer on Bonny’s Blog follows:

** I get nothing out of POF and only hang around because there’s nothing else as user friendly out there, as I mentioned just tonight to someone who I messaged purely out of boredom. It’s a scammy business for sure. When you select new users in your search, you may see a few new users, but you’ll also see users you’ve always seen. Matches sent to you automatically don’t match the critieria that POF sets up with you. It sent me a match for female for example. And those ads that target men who, just by chance, happen to be my age exactly… I just love being tracked.

Then again, How’s the owner of POF supposed to generate revenue? He can talk about his altruistic reasons all he wants, but just because he says he’s got only altruistic motives, that doesn’t mean he does. And even if he does, he still has to pay the bills. I don’t begrudge him a biz model that earns him a profit. Depending.

In my case, realistically, I can expect to receive little attention due to my age. And I’m not about to lie about my age because I don’t lie, period. But that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t like to try to get somewhere. I really wonder though. Sure, I’m 54 (for a few more days), but considering the number (supposedly) of fish attached to this site, it’s still strange that I’ve gotten absolutely nowhere in all this time.

I actually don’t know how long I’ve been on the site. It’s probably been a couple of years. **

This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “How Do I Remove My Profile From Plenty of Fish?”

  1. wdurie2003@yahoo.com says:

    This site is misleading and charging for fees to buy gold fish to open mail and correspondense to from other members.
    I will contact the BBB if I do not receive a confirmation of my canellation to any subsription to plenty of fish and the misleading request for the charges of $9.95 removed for the suposely gold fish points nwhich can never be found ,used ,or activated.
    John

    • Arrby says:

      I’ve had no experience with that particular feature. It’s never interested me. What I do find with POF, however, is that without putting down a penny, it at least gives me enough features to function. Which is to say, It allows me to take care of business. I don’t really give a crap about the frills.

      I wonder though. How can I be so invisible? Is it just my age, as I assume? Or does POF somehow cripple me so that in desperation I dish out money? The thing is, I don’t have any money. Well, I have little. And I don’t have a credit card. But that’s the world for you. The corporacrat’s attitude is: Pay or die.

      Corporacrat: Meet God, the Source of life.

Feel free to comment!

