Never Mind Merida

Meridas make over

Fans protest Merida’s makeover » StraightGoods.ca.

An excerpt from the above linked-to article, by Beth Lyons, follows:

====== =
Over the past few weeks, the Walt Disney Company has faced on online uproar over their makeover of Merida, the protagonist of the film Brave. The makeover was in preparation for Merida’s induction to the Magic Kingdom’s Princess Hall of Fame and involved sexualizing the youthful character by making her older, more polished, and giving her a classic come-hither countenance (that kind of looks like a facelift, if I’m being perfectly honest).

Disney regularly gives the ol’ beautifying treatment to its female characters when it’s time for a new run of merchandise. Last holiday shopping season, for instance, Disney worked with Barneys New York to re-envision its classic characters (Mickey, Minnie, Daffy, Daisy, etc) as runway models.
= ======

My online response to the above article follows:

=== === =
Sad eh. I cringe when I see beautiful women, and worse, beautiful young women slathering makeup on, makeup made out of who knows what. You can imagine the beautiful body underneath and can only shake your head in amazement and sadness that, solely because of what capitalists who want to sell crap want, that person has hidden her natural beauty underneath frightful – and it’s often just that – makeup that might be setting her up for cancer or some other problem down the road.

Bright red lips and high heels. Those are worst, visually. Perfumes and hand creams are just as bad an offence and something that causes me to not only cringe, but, often, change seats on public transit. But plenty of guys will breathe it all in, literally and mentally, and so, absent some common sense on the part of the female consumer (and her peers and parents), How will that problem go away?

One of the young female baristas at the coffee shop I go to, who has a boyfriend and, I’m sure, isn’t looking for another, starting showing up for work there in super tight shorts and with lipstick on. And she does not look good with the lipstick on. Boy is it garish! And there’s one of my male friends, who meets me there regularly, impressed all to hell by her new look. It helps when you are two dimensional and can’t see more than what the physical eye shows you (even if you are a stand up person). But even there, I just don’t see the plus, other than that other guys do.

Capitalists, as we (here on this NDP-loving website; That’s sarcasm) know, are mainly interested in making money and they work together to do so. They just don’t care how they do it. So, If the script calls for an alien female who will give you nightmares (Klingons), they can pull it off with no problem. And they did, but also, apparently and with justification, felt that the population is softened up enough that you could slap some bright red lipstick on them and everyone would be okay with that. Paramount doesn’t sell lipstick, to my knowledge. But other capitalists do, ergo… But, for those of you who can think, Don’t those lipstick-wearing Klingon females (“Star Trek – The Wrath Of Khan”) tell you something?
= === ===

I was wrong about the Star Trek movie I saw the made up Klingon women in recently. I’ve had a hankering for some Star Trek lately and have re-watched a few Star Trek movies. The movie I was remembering was Star Trek Generations. The pics below are screen shots from that. One was already online. The pic of Lursa was a screen shot I took. The sisters are Lursa and B’Etor. They are known as the Duras sisters.

Good luck trying to find a good online image of the female Klingons wearing their come hither make up. This was the best I could do:

Duras sisters

Lursa Duras

edit, June 21, 2013 – I recently re-watched Star Trek – The Undiscovered Country. No, I wasn’t looking for images of female Klingons wearing lipstick, although that could have been my motivation. I was done with this post. But I happened upon it. For your viewing ‘pleasure’, I give you Azetbur, below:

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment!

