Raping And Robbing Brazil, Along With All Peoples

Dilma Rousseff - photo by  Eraldo Peres /Associated Press

Dilma Rousseff – photo by Eraldo Peres /Associated Press

Source: Washington Tries to Break BRICS – Rape of Brazil Begins | OffGuardian

An excerpt from the above linked-to article by F. William Engdahl follows:

——- — –
Washington’s regime change machinery has for the time being succeeded in removing an important link in the alliance of large emerging nations by railroading through a Senate impeachment of the duly elected President, Dilma Rousseff…

It’s important to keep in mind that elected President Rousseff was not convicted or even formally charged with any concrete act of corruption, even though the pro-oligarchy mainstream Brazil media, led by O’Globo Group of the billionaire Roberto Irineu Marinho, ran a media defamation campaign creating the basis to railroad Rousseff into formal impeachment before the Senate…

In effect, she was impeached for the dramatic decline in the Brazilian economy, a decline deliberately pushed along as US credit rating agencies downgraded Brazilian debt, and international and mainstream Brazilian media kept the Petrobras corruption allegations in the spotlight…

One of the two, Temer’s extremely close ally Romero Jucá, was caught on tape plotting Dilma’s impeachment as a way to shut down the ongoing Petrobras corruption investigation, as well as indicating that Brazil’s military, the media, and the courts were all participants in the impeachment plotting…

In 2009, according to leaked US diplomatic cables published by Wikileaks, the US Consulate in Rio wrote that Exxon and Chevron were trying in vain to alter a law advanced by Rousseff’s mentor and predecessor in her Brazilian Workers’ Party , President Luis Inacio Lula da Silva. That 2009 law made the state-owned Petrobras chief operator of all offshore oil blocs. Washington and the US oil giants were not at all pleased at losing control over potentially the largest new world oil discovery in decades…

Biden’s task was to sound out Lula’s successor, Rousseff, about reversing that exclusion of US major oil companies in favor of the Chinese…

After his May 2013 talks with Rousseff, Biden clearly gave her the kiss of death.
– — ——-

My online response to the above link-to article follows:

======= == =
Why, why, why do the leftist leaders in South America not learn anything from coups like this?! You don’t close down the private media, but you get tough with them. You don’t give them the total freedom they have now – because it’s been SHOWN that the private, corporate-own media is genuinely a threat to national security! So you pass a law. Call it The Necessary Fairness In Media law or whatever. And you limit the private television stations and you include a government competitor. I don’t know a whole lot about RT News, but I’m thrilled to see it on my mother’s tv. I didn’t know it was. I thought it was only online. I don’t own one of those ‘weapons’ myself. I was visiting my mother the other day and was trying to tell her something (forget what) that the news reporter on her television set, in the background, repeated. I don’t often get that kind of support in political discussions with my mother, who isn’t educated and only knows what she learns from tv. But it turned out to be RT that she had on. I noticed the banner when I glanced. I said to her, ‘You watch RT?’ She said yes and that she liked it a lot better than some of the other crap she was seeing.

As for oil, There’s a no win situation for the world. It needs to stay where it is.
= == =======

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Raping And Robbing Brazil, Along With All Peoples

  1. Cool that your mother is now watching RT.

    • Arrby says:

      I’ve tried to reply to your comment many times, but WordPress has become bloody abusive and so far hasn’t let me! Imagine! I can’t reply to a reply on my own bloody blog! I lost my affection for WP staff a long time ago, starting with the axing of the robust, useful classic editor.

      I just wanted to say, in response to your comment: Yes. I think so too. Although there’s lots of damage to undo and I fear a few short years of watching RT won’t do it. My mother’s 80 and uneducated. But still, it’s nice that RT has caught her attention – while it’s nice.

      • Sorry to hear that WP has been so buggy for you recently. I only use the classic editor and haven’t had any problems in a very long time.

        Your mother may be uneducated in the formal sense, but she has an entire long lifetime of knowledge, don’t underestimate her. Of course, she may have been essentially brainwashed if she has been watching a lot of corporate media over those years. I think watching RT is a great start. Try Democracy Now! next. It’s on radio and I don’t know if it’s on any cable channels. I watch via the internet/youtube channel.

        • Doug Colwell says:

          If I might butt in, I’d be careful of Democracy Now. To me they look like controlled opposition plain an simple. On the surface they appear to be authentic, but over time doubts creep in. I ask you what have they said about the “White Helmets”? I have no idea myself but I’d bet they follow the msm line.

          • I kind of agree with you, Doug. I only occasionally post their videos on my blog. I have found that their coverage of international news is lacking in depth. They are good at covering protests in the US.

          • Arrby says:

            I’m careful about it all, but what can you do? You’ve got to get your info from somewhere. So for me it’s the alt/progressive media (and books). The problem, as John Stauber and others point out, is that there’s those within the establishment (George Soros, TIDES), but not enamored of all of the Right’s positions and tactics (even though, strictly speaking they too are rightwing), who have lots of money and, over time, have bought a progressive movement (which, considering how big that movement is compared to genuinely alt media might better be referred to as ‘the’ progressive movement). That’s not to say that the orgs within it don’t tell us much that we need to know, much of which we will agree with.

            But it is to say that we must be ultra careful. I was already quite disappointed with certain alt media orgs before I came across Stauber’s article (http://bit.ly/2dEFXWm). John Stauber makes an appearance in the very fine documentary, “Psywar,” which is linked to on my blog. I soured on The Nation years ago when I realized their own, useless to us, raison d’etre was replacing the Republican Party with the equally gangster Democratic Party. Over the years, I’ve seen stinky stuff in other alt media orgs. Most lately, I’ve been dismayed by Common Dreams pro (Bush connected) Politico attitude. Then I noticed that Mother Jones had disappeared ‘all’ of my pro Brexit posts. I also slammed John Oliver, again on the MJ site, for his pro Remain position (which was empty and clearly only something bosses could want, as leftie Rick Salutin more or less points out). Rabble (Canadian) carries pro R2P and pro imperial Rwandan propagandist Gerald Caplan’s articles. Consortium News carries CIA asset Graham Fuller’s articles.

            I see that Soros (directly or indirectly) has his fingers in all kinds of alt media orgs, including Democracy Now. I picked up dribs and drabs of that as I flitted from site to site, some which are more independent (and therefore informative, including in this area) than others. And after a Google search (itself a scary thing, for which reason I as often Duck Duck Go), I found a site that lists all the orgs funded by Soros, directly or indirectly (http://bit.ly/2d5yW1A). It’s rightwing (which you can tell from the short comments that whoever created this list makes about some entries), but too good to just jettison.

  2. Arrby says:

    Someone in the support forum suggested I have to check my approval section. So that’s what I’ll be sure to do in the future. Which doesn’t change my mind about WP. I’m not quite ready to call WP buggy. Unfriendly? In some ways; For sure! The removal of the useful classic editor is unforgiveable. They say that what they replaced it with is “New and improved.” I say: Drop dead!

Feel free to comment!

