Actually, The internet ‘is’ crashing!

frosty-twist-450x450

*edit, January 12, 2016 – I’ve got egg on my face. I am not observant. The name of the poster (in RT News’s comments by readers), who my post is riffing off, is not Justin Trudeau. It’s Trustin Judeau. My points about the need for attention are good though. In my case, I also need to pay closer attention.

Source: ‘The internet will shut down for 24 hours in 2017 causing financial markets to crash’ — RT Business

Now and then I pop into pseudo progressive sites to check things out. (There are still real progressive websites out there and I certainly visit them.) They are often still better (if you’re inoculated) than major media. RT – which, together with Spot.IM, and its owners, Nadav Shoval and Ishay Green, censors and abuses its visitors who post comments – has good content. But its management stinks, obviously. I think that the situation with the RT/Spot.IM partnership is probably as bad as the situation at First Look, where pro nazi billionaire owner, Pierre Omidyar, has brought together all these celebrity leftwing journos where, according to Jeremy Scahill (who did not mean to rat out his boss), he keeps a close eye on them. They too do some good work, except for deviations like 1. Murtaza Hussain’s pro USAID and pro White Helmets piece and 2. an article by Glenn Greenwald about the DNC hack that was a leak, where no mention is made of the crucial role played by Craig Murray. (There has been NO mea culpa or explanation for those two serious deviations by Omidyar’s boys.) Who is the billionaire owner of RT? As far as I know, that would be the Russian state. Which is fine. What country doesn’t have its state-owned media? In the case of some states, like Venezuela, They had better have state-owned media and good state-owned media. Or else. Actually, In the case of Venezuela, it’s too late.

Justin aka Trustin

Justin aka Trustin

We all need attention. We will get it either by attracting people to us, which can be done by being useful, helpful, friendly and kind, for example. Or, If we lack principles and good associations, we can force attention from others. (A post on RT by Justin Trudeau, attached to Justin Trudeau’s image, certainly drew my attention. A subsequent post by the same author tells me that, despite the brazenness of the author using Justin’s image and proper name, it’s not actually Justin. In his second post, he just notes that his name is Trustin. Right. Could this be someone at RT?) That involves behaving in such a way that others can’t help but notice you. And the range of behavior is wide, including everything from just being loud or obnoxious to being criminal, sometimes seriously criminal. And for those who already lack principles (unless you count negative principles like the main one that self-modified believers in inequality embrace, namely ‘sin and survive’) negative attention-getting is as ‘natural’ as farting. The way that the self-modified people get attention, in other words, may also involve their making a living. They survive by stealing the means of survival from others. They are very down with mafia capitalism, or neoliberalism (same thing) and the gangster corporatocracy that embraces that neoconservative, demonic approach. Those are people who eagerly play the godless game of ‘riches for the strongest’. They get a kick – and glory – when they take the means of survival from others. When you’re being robbed, you notice. True, you can be robbed and not know who robbed you. But we know who our mafia capitalists are in government (formally and not formally). That noticing of the powerful 1% as it robs us, mainly via neoliberalism, equals their glory. If we didn’t notice, they’d still have our means of survival, but they’d lack the glory.

“Do not love either the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him; because everything in the world — the desire of the flesh and the desire of the eyes and the showy display of one’s means of life — does not originate with the Father, but originates with the world.” – 1John 2:15 (my bolding)

rt-censorship-3

What does RT and/or Spot.IM get from regularly disappearing my, and others’, comments? Attention for sure. I suppose that, as with Common Dreams and other pseudo progressive sites, Informed visitors who post comments that don’t jibe with the doctrinally correct narrative that they want to push, and who might discourage less informed but principled people, who can think, from donating funds to their shady operation, are to be shooed away by simply disappearing their comments as fast as they appear (or banning outright, as happened to me on Common Dreams). So be it, except that in some cases, we whose views and influence are unwanted don’t disappear entirely. I have my own blog and a category called ‘Disappeared’ that the tag ‘censored’ will take readers to. There’s even the Off Guardian website, where people’s experience of being disappeared by the truly awful (now) Guardian led them to create a website and space for those who experience such abuse by pro corporatocracy, anti-democratic owners of websites who find it profitable, in various ways, to attack democracy and its defenders.

I’m not going to go overboard with this. I won’t be visiting and posting on RT (and the many sites that are pseudo progressive and behave similarly) – which they allow me to do – super frequently and blogging about it every time I comment and that comment is disappeared. That’s what I would do if ‘I’ was unhinged. That would only make me crazier and my perverted abusers happier. But I will be popping in regularly enough. Readers of my blog should know what all these pseudo progressive orgs are about.

Your move RT/Spot.IM!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Actually, The internet ‘is’ crashing!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Well, I actually intended to come here, so I don’t think I’m random. Also, I very much liked the “Palestinian state…fried chicken” . I have to put my children to bed but will say more later.

Feel free to comment!

