Off Guardian disappeared me. Is it petulance or worse?

Source: The Rising of Britain’s ‘New Politics’ | OffGuardian

An excerpt from the above linked-to article by John Pilger follows:

==== =
Delegates to the recent Labour Party conference in the English seaside town of Brighton seemed not to notice a video playing in the main entrance. The world’s third biggest arms manufacturer, BAe Systems, supplier to Saudi Arabia, was promoting its guns, bombs, missiles, naval ships and fighter aircraft.

It seemed a perfidious symbol of a party in which millions of Britons now invest their political hopes. Once the preserve of Tony Blair, it is now led by Jeremy Corbyn, whose career has been very different and is rare in British establishment politics.

Addressing the conference, the campaigner Naomi Klein described the rise of Corbyn as “part of a global phenomenon. We saw it in Bernie Sanders’ historic campaign in the US primaries, powered by millennials who know that safe centrist politics offers them no kind of safe future.”

In fact, at the end of the US primary elections last year, Sanders led his followers into the arms of Hillary Clinton, a liberal warmonger from a long tradition in the Democratic Party.
= ====

Ah yes, Naomi Klein, the superstar on the Left. Is that Bernie Sanders’s Left?

Anyway, I appreciated John’s careful examination of another (rising) star on the Left, namely Jeremy Corbyn. There’s a constant trickle of such stars. Remember Obama? That star became a drone assassin par excellence. And on and on it goes.

John’s article, I found, was a good complement to Barbara McKenzie’s blog post about Jeremy Corbyn titled “Jeremy Corbyn and George Soros.” The following is an excerpt from that blog post:

=-=-=-
Corbyn as a leading anti-war activist has been vocal in his opposition to active interventions such as the invasion of Iraq and the bombing of Syria. That he was sharing a platform with people demanding a Libya-style no-fly zone, and with a flag associated with some of the most vicious actions of the Syrian war, should have given Corbyn pause.

It could be argued that Corbyn arrived late; maybe he did not notice the FSA flag, or realise its significance; maybe he did not know about Connolly’s demand for a no-fly zone.

However Corbyn already had a murky history when it comes to regime change wars. In 2011, he was instrumental as chairman of Stop the War Coalition in suppressing debate and dissent about STW policies regarding Libya and Syria. In the same role he shares responsibility for the deplatforming of Mother Agnes Mariam, bullied by no-fly zone proponents out of speaking to a STW conference in 2013 about the war in Syria .

Also on Corban’s watch, STW continued its affiliation with the Muslim Association of Britain (MAB), the British representative of the Muslim Brotherhood. The Muslim Brotherhood is considered to be the parent or mother lode of all terrorist organisations in the Middle East. The Brotherhood is sponsored by George Soros, with a recent study showing that Soros donated over $1.4 million to the Brotherhood from 2011 onwards.
-=-=-=

Read the entire post by Barbara. It’s not fun. But it’s important.

I visit Off Guardian often enough. I flit around though, visiting many sites, and, to be honest, Off Guardian hasn’t been that fun. What attracted me to OG was that the site was created by people who were tired of having their comments disappeared on The Guardian. I could relate. I had experienced similar treatment, often, on a variety of websites. (And I’ve been banned on enough websites, including the Toronto Star (which killed commenting altogether shortly afterward), the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and Common Dreams.) And it seemed that our politics were similar. We were all normal people who cared.

What isn’t fun about the site is the way you can’t simply comment. To clarify, Some can and some can’t. I comment through my wordPress.com connection. Often, the comment just disappears. In the past, OG staff were good about dealing with email enquiries about it. I know I wasn’t the only one experiencing problems because the odd visitor to the site also complained in comments attached to various OG-published articles, and OG editors would respond, apologetically (mostly), in the online comments. One of the OG editors even talked about re-doing the website eventually. And then, sometime later, when another poster in frustration pointed out that he or she couldn’t post a comment, expressing it a certain way (something like “Your commenting feature doesn’t work”), he or she was responded to with a comment simply stating that the site ‘does’ work. Period. Well, I can understand the frustration that OG’s editors feel about this. If they haven’t had the time and resources to change the site, and continue getting complaints, then that would get to them. Perhaps the editor’s brusk response was along the lines of “The feature works! It is glitchy, but quit complaining! At least it works. We could be like other sites that don’t allow commenting or censor political views that we don’t agree with.” Which doesn’t make black into white. The commenting feature works but not properly. That was the correct response that should have been given to the complainer by the OG editor, whether or not she was frustrated. That happened right after OG had been stabbed in the back by PayPal, speeding up OG’s switch to Patreon. Out of sympathy for that, a situation I blogged about here, I started a small monthly donation to OG via Patreon. But when the OG editor brusquely informed the above complainer that the site did work, period, I was miffed. I was miffed enough to note, in comments attached to an OG-published article (forget which one) that as long as the site works and they aren’t changing things, then I’m yanking my Patreon donations, since they are not needed. Of course, I’m sure they are still needed. But come on!

Whether my most recent comment, which I attempted (October 11, 2017 I believe) to post in response to the John Pilger article (top of post) was disappeared out of petulance, because OG is miffed with my public announcement (which they deserved) about yanking my Patreon monthly donations or because of my political views (which would surprise me, seeing how they seem to be shared by OG, but who knows?), doesn’t matter. Both are equally an instance of bad behavior and either way, they disappeared my comment. I’m convinced that they deliberately disappeared this comment because of an email exchange I had with Catte about it. See for yourself. (A response I got from Black Cat, or Black Catte, which was sent from her iPhone was received by myself 3 times for some reason.):

=-=-=-=-=—
October 12, 2017

I liked the article by John Pilger about Jeremy Corbyn and when I tried to attach a comment to that article, the site wouldn’t let me. Here’s my post, with two links. Possibly it is being held in moderation. If so, it would be nice to know.

== =
Oct 12, 9:35 pm, 2017

My first serious doubts about Jeremy Corbyn arose when I watched an Al Jazeera series on Israeli influence in the UK and in the Labour Party. (Al Jazeera is evil, but setting that aside…) When I seen the success with which those

http://www.aljazeera.com/investigations/thelobby/

scum manipulated Corbyn, I was seriously distressed. (Apparently, Corby later asked for an investigation of that and I don’t know where it went.) Then I read Barbara McKenzie’s blog post about George Soros and Jeremy

https://barbaramckenzie.wordpress.com/2017/06/18/jeremy-corbyn-and-george-soros/

Corbyn. It’s not looking good.

I completely agree with John Pilger about Bernie Sanders. As for Jeremy Corbyn, maybe he’s not that bad, but I don’t believe in him.
= ==

If there’s no problem with my comment, perhaps you can toss it in for me. Thanks. I can’t imagine that you actually want to do this all the time.

Rick

+

October 13, 2017

It shouldn’t be in moderation as the upper limit is three hyperlinks. And you would receive a notification that your comment was pending. But I’ll check today.

It’s sadly true that comments can simply vanish into the system. Try posting again. If it fails again let us know and admin can post it for you

Sent from my iPhone

+

October 15, 2017

I sent it to our admin. But yes there is a lot to do and it devolves on just one or two people.

Sent from my iPhone

On 14 Oct 2017, at 10:57 pm, Arrbyy . wrote:

> I don’t see my comment. It’s been a while. Is that because you good people are busy or is there a problem with my comment?
>
> On Fri, Oct 13, 2017 at 9:21 AM, Arrbyy . wrote:
>
> Hello and thanks for replying. I tried again and it didn’t go through. I’ll let you post it, if you don’t mind. And I apologize for this.
>
> Rick
>
> On Fri, Oct 13, 2017 at 3:12 AM, Black Cat wrote:
>
> It shouldn’t be in moderation as the upper limit is three hyperlinks. And you would receive a notification that your comment was pending. But I’ll check today.
>
> It’s sadly true that comments can simply vanish into the system. Try posting again. If it fails again let us know and admin can post it for you
>
> Sent from my iPhone
>
> On 12 Oct 2017, at 9:35 pm, Arrbyy . wrote:
>
>> I liked the article by John Pilger about Jeremy Corbyn and when I tried to attach a comment to that article, the site wouldn’t let me. Here’s my post, with two links. Possibly it is being held in moderation. If so, it would be nice to know.
>>
>> == =
>> My first serious doubts about Jeremy Corbyn arose when I watched an Al Jazeera series on Israeli influence in the UK and in the Labour Party. (Al Jazeera is evil, but setting that aside…) When I seen the success with which those
>>
>> http://www.aljazeera.com/investigations/thelobby/
>>
>> scum manipulated Corbyn, I was seriously distressed. (Apparently, Corby later asked for an investigation of that and I don’t know where it went.) Then I read Barbara McKenzie’s blog post about George Soros and Jeremy
>>
>> https://barbaramckenzie.wordpress.com/2017/06/18/jeremy-corbyn-and-george-soros/
>>
>> Corbyn. It’s not looking good.
>>
>> I completely agree with John Pilger about Bernie Sanders. As for Jeremy Corbyn, maybe he’s not that bad, but I don’t believe in him.
>> = ==
>>
>> If there’s no problem with my comment, perhaps you can toss it in for me. Thanks. I can’t imagine that you actually want to do this all the time.
>>
>> Rick
>>
>> —
>> ** About $38 trillion, and counting, reside in offshore tax havens while ‘leaders’ whine that they can’t afford social spending! **
—=-=-=-=-=

“Special Places in Hell: For Madeline, Hillary… and Bernie” by Paul Street

This entry was posted in Disappeared and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment!

